Buffer Management for Mobile IP

Mohamed M. Khalil, Haseeb Akhtar, Emad A. Qaddoura, Charles E. Perkins, Alberto E. Cerpa


Security and Smooth handoff with minimal data loss and delay are desirable goals of any mobile network. To minimize data loss while changing FAs, a MN can request the previous FA to allocate buffers for storing its (MN's) data. This buffered data is then forwarded to the MN when it registers with the new FA. This approach may decrease the window of data loss and delay during handoff. Additionally, it may be necessary for the MN to authenticate the new FA before allowing it (the new FA) to receive data from the previous FA. This draft outlines a buffering protocol that minimizes the potential loss of data while the MN changes its subnetwork point of attachment. This draft also provides a way for the MN to verify the new FA during the handoff, if and when that is needed.




Mohamed M. Khalil, Haseeb Akhtar, Emad A. Qaddoura, Charles E. Perkins, Alberto E. Cerpa, "Buffer Management for Mobile IP," Internet-Draft, pp. 1--20, Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF), October, 1999.


  author =       "Mohamed M. Khalil and Haseeb Akhtar and Emad A.
                 Qaddoura and Charles E. Perkins and Alberto E. Cerpa",
  title =        "Buffer Management for Mobile {IP}",
  institution =  "Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF)",
  year =         "1999",
  number =       "Internet-Draft",
  pages =        "1--20",
  month =        oct,
  URL =          "http://www.andes.ucmerced.edu/papers/Khalil99a.pdf",
  cited =        "17",


This paper is copyright © 1999 by its authors. Permission to make digital or hard copies of part or all of this work for personal use is granted without fee provided that copies are not made or distributed for profit or commercial purposes. New copies must bear this notice and the full citation on the first page. Abstracting with credit is permitted. To copy otherwise, to republish, to post on servers or to redistribute to lists, requires prior specific permission of the authors.